Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    on the look for a small server for testing, i installed portablewebap
    on the whole its a great server, with only a 20 mb footprint.
    it is a basic WAMP server.

    but i am experiencing a problem with accessing directory listings.
    say, directory "1234" has no index file.
    i want the server to return the folder contents. but this is saying 403.

    please help by telling me where to edit what.

    waiting for your replies....
    thank you,
    Arkantos!


    ps. the versions:
    Apache/2.0.55 (Win32)
    Apache API Version 20020903
    PHP Version 5.1.6
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    Did you check the .htaccess file?

  4. #3
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    thank you for replying, audiofreak9.

    in the so-called htdocs folder or any subfolders, there are no htaccess files.

    i personally think, though i dont know much about servers, that there is some lines to be added, deleted or changed in the httpd.conf file.

    shall i dump the contents here??

    thank you,

    Arkantos!
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  5. #4
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    I would just create an .htaccess file and place it in your root folder.
    Put the following information in it:

    DirectoryIndex default.php

    You can also use index.php, default.html, index.html, home.html, ETC...

  6. #5
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    trying this right now, get back to you in 10 minutes.
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  7. #6
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    nope. no go.

    i created a txt file and put in:
    "DirectoryIndex default.php" - without the quotes.
    then i renamed it as .htaccess and put in in the folder wcich is the server root, as in 127.0.0.1.

    i accessed that folder, and the normal server info page came up fine.
    when i changed the folder to 127.0.0.1/client1/ - it is still giving a 403.

    i even tried copying the .htaccess to inside client1/ - still no go.

    what am i doing wrong?

    there is no compulsion that i HAVE to use THIS server.
    any server that runs smoothly, and has a small footprint is fine, if you have a reccomendation?

    thank you,

    Arkantos!
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)

  8. #7
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    The webpage you are trying to access in the directory /client1/ is default.php correct? If not you need to use the name of the exact webpage. If it is index.html use that instead of default.php...etc

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    4,146
    Member #
    10263
    Liked
    1 times
    Er, no, this won't have the desired effect. There's still a directive you want to put into .htaccess, but I'm not sure what it is. This one will just set the index file. You want it to display folder contents when there is no index file, which is usually disabled by default on webservers.

    It seems like this might do it:
    Code:
    Options Indexes

  10. #9
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    but i am experiencing a problem with accessing directory listings.
    Thanks Shadowfiend, I missed that part of his question...Sorry Arkantos

  11. #10
    Member Arkantos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    66
    Member #
    10732
    audiofreak:
    nothing to be sorry about, we all make mistakes, we are cool!


    shadowfiend:
    i put "Options Indexes" in the htaccess and removed the "directoryindex...." line.
    still dont work - gives out a 403 forbidden

    just to re-iterate, if there is a small foot-print server that you know of, that offers, apache, php, mysql and phpmyadmin, i am all set.
    i used to use apache2traid, but that takes up too much space and hogs too much of my precious resources


    thank you both for replying,
    Arkantos!
    No bastard ever won a war by dying for his country, he won it by making the other poor dumb bastard dying for his country.
    General George S. Patton (US Army)


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:29 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com