Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Hosts and PHP

  1. #1
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    I have a geocities, and a cox.net server. I jsut noticed how servers HAVE to be able to "read" Mysql and PHP. I cannot find it anywhere but does anyone know if www.cox.net has PHP access? If there arent any free services that support these two alnguages, would someone let me have a peice of their serivce?


  2.  

  3. #2
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    www.tripod.co.uk lets you use php and mysql for free. I would only use it for practice purposes though.
    JR

  4. #3
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    I've never tried lycos, but ill check it out. Thanks.

  5. #4
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    although if you are testing php and mysql i would use a server on your own computer (it saves time)...

    http://www.webdesignforums.net/showt...5&pagenumber=1
    JR

  6. #5
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    Ahh, this is confusing. : )

  7. #6
    Senior Member zeroskater88's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    RI
    Posts
    391
    Member #
    682
    I may have to request a service.. : (

  8. #7
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Do you mean you have cox.net internet access? Because running a server off of a personal broadband connection is a violation of every major ISP's Terms of Service. Just a warning, cause they could cancel your account if they wanted to. If you're referring to the free webspace that cox gives you, I would guess that they don't have PHP enabled.

  9. #8
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Note that they usually don't find out or particurally care, but technically, yes, it would violate nearly every ISP's TOS (side note: I think RoadRunner doesn't have that clause at last check in their TOS, for some reason).

    However it's perfectly fine to run a server on your computer that isn't accessible to the outside world.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  10. #9
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    i think they would only be bothered if you were hogging all the bandwidth.

    Thats what really gets ISPs pissed off. My ISP put a 1gb daily cap on broadband recently and there was a revolt. Somebody even set a website up because they were so angry
    JR

  11. #10
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    That's ridiculous...as much as 1 GB is per day, some people actually need that (for example, if you work from home and need to download very large images from your corporate site for a program you're writing).
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com