Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Member dsmflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    14695
    Hello,

    Just discovered the hard way you can't change the ownership of files and directories on Apache/Linux server. Using Joomla and some of my component module directories cant have chmod changed.
    Can someone provide me with a hack to chmod my directories and files since you cannot achieve this on Apache?
    or tell me how to turn off whatever on the Apache server keeps changing the permissions on my server.

    Thanks

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    are you using apache on windows or linux?

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  4. #3
    Member dsmflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    14695
    using linux. i thought i could use Putty, but found out the hard way that you can't with Apache running Linux. I chmod some folders, but not others.
    i'm really surprised that there isn't widespread knowledge that you cannot change folder and file owner ship on Apache Linux. Maybe i'm breaking ground here.
    Putty keeps telling me that it can't find the file or directory using command: chown username home/username/public_html/directory_name

    so how do you change ownership? i need a hack. thanks

  5. #4
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    are you using ubuntu

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  6. #5
    Member dsmflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    14695
    i don't know what ubuntu is. I am not really a tech/IT guy, i'm a web developer just trying to make some of my directories writeable. i just don't know why putty is telling me it can't find the directory.

    can you explain. thanks

  7. #6
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    the problem is not apache it is joomla that is causing this in all likelyhood. i dont know about joomla but thats because i write code . so i would post in a joomla area.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  8. #7
    Member dsmflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    14695
    its actually how apache changes file permissions for security, actually making it hell. i'll try joomla forum. thnx

  9. #8
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    i use the lamp setup to test and have for over a year and have had no problem with this.

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }

  10. #9
    Member dsmflash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    40
    Member #
    14695
    thanks, but the last thing i need right now is another technology. i'm about to get rid of my server as it is. if i could physically get my hands on it, i would trash it into a million pieces.

  11. #10
    Senior Member Dorky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Destin Florida
    Posts
    1,430
    Member #
    19103
    Liked
    4 times
    wow man im sorry. are you using a host company.
    if you do change companies or decide to just setup your own server look into ubuntu server. its way to easy to and install. has a gui, terminal, synaptic package manager and lamp "linux, apache, mysql, php" is a snap to instal. lots of ubuntu joomla setups out there as well.
    im in a huricane area so to avoid downtime im on register.com

    while($get_it !== true){ continue; }


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:52 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com