Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    213
    Member #
    17128
    Don't slap me for this first comment of my questions, but.....I have my hosting with godaddy for www.waikoloavacationrentals.com. I just purchased SSL hosting for it so that I could secure anything in the folder /reservations. How do I go about making all of that secure only? Godaddy said I would have to use redirects, but I really don't want to do that. Any help would be appreciated.
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    ok, well the cert is installed (https://www.waikoloavacationrentals.com/)

    You can simply solve the issue using a .htaccess file.

    Here's an article on it.

    http://www.besthostratings.com/artic...-htaccess.html

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    213
    Member #
    17128
    Quote Originally Posted by smoseley
    ok, well the cert is installed (https://www.waikoloavacationrentals.com/)

    You can simply solve the issue using a .htaccess file.

    Here's an article on it.

    http://www.besthostratings.com/artic...-htaccess.html
    Steven,
    I hate to say it, but it is pretty ridiculous when I can get a better answer here than at godaddy. So would this be correct.
    1) I put a htaccess file in my /reservations folder.
    2) Then I put the following code:
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_URI} reservations
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://www.waikoloavacationrentals.com/reservations [R,L]I am not sure about the port and I am not sure what that $1 represented at the end of the rewrite rule.

    I just need everything within the reservations folder secure.
    Thanks,
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)

  5. #4
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    No, you put the htaccess file in your web root, not in the reservations folder.

    Everything else looks right!

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    213
    Member #
    17128
    Quote Originally Posted by smoseley
    No, you put the htaccess file in your web root, not in the reservations folder.

    Everything else looks right!
    Steven,
    Since I was trying to do it just for the reservation folder I think it did need to be in the /reservations folder. I tried it in the other and had problems so I made a htaccess file for the /reservations folder and I think it worked. You can check it out by clicking on the book online at the bottom of www.waikoloavacationrentals.com/mauna-lani-terrace-a204.html
    The only problem is that if you are using internet explorer it will ask you if you want to allow only the information delivered securely and if you click yes it will not bring in the header, background, etc.
    How do I fix that?
    Thanks!
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Odd, you have a condition in there for the path... it should work fine from the root folder....

    Anyhow!!!

    The IE problem you're having is because you're probably referencing the images and/or CSS with an absolute URL (e.g. http://www.mydomain.com/images/myimage.jpg).

    You should instead use a relative URL (e.g. /images/myimage.jpg) for everything so that the HTTP Scheme is not a part of that path.

    This will prevent issues with non-secure items not being rendered, and will eliminate the IE warning (Firefox just places a warning icon at the bottom of the window).

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    213
    Member #
    17128
    I think this is the line of code I need to try to figure out what to change in
    if(isset( $property_details['arrPicList']['clsPictureInfo']['strURL']))
    echo("<img class='stream_image' src='" . $property_details ['arrPicList']['clsPictureInfo']['strURL'] ."' width='250px' height='190px' style='cursor:hand' onclick=showMoreInfo('". $moreinfo_link."')>");
    else
    echo("<img class='stream_image' src='propertyimage/Picture-Not-Available.gif' width='250px' height='190px' >");

    It is the first half.
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    213
    Member #
    17128
    Got it figured out. Thanks,
    Rob Dalton (Kolea Rentals)


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com