Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4
Results 31 to 40 of 40
  1. #31
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4452
    Thanx buddy

  2.  

  3. #32
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4452
    Official server up today! Its a P3 800MHz with 256 SDRAM @ 133MHz 17GB HDD.. i am planning to leave it on 24/7 does anybody know if this is a good idea or should i have it off like once a week so I donít over do it? Iíve heard somewhere that itís good for it to leave it on.

  4. #33
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    If you've got a good fan installed then I think it should be okay to leave it on full time, although you should of course virus scan it regularly, and make sure you back it all up.

    Your site is a bit of a slow load however...
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  5. #34
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4452
    heheh i was downloading at 70KB/s last night on my 256K connection so i think thats wh it was so slow.. as soon as i get money ill have to get its own connection maybe 512K that would be cool www.28bevers.does.it if you missed the link before i hope this doesnt count as spamming.

  6. #35
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,663
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    141 times
    Beverman, what is the operating system on your server?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  7. #36
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    4689
    You can definately set up a web server at your house, but the IP isn't always "static" like they tell you, sometimes it changes after several months... you have to be aware of that, so I wouldn't run anything too important at home.

    Other than that, it's fun and it can be done Good luck with it.

  8. #37
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,663
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    141 times
    Very ture. Then again, that's what no-ip.com sites are for
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  9. #38
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    14
    Member #
    4689
    Yep, but you still have to update the IP

  10. #39
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Not always true. Many sites like the former DNS2Go could install clients that would periodically send heartbeats back to the server to update your IP address for you.

    DynDNS just e-mails me days before my hostname expires and my IP address nearly never changes even though it's DHCP.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  11. #40
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    Member #
    4452
    Originally posted by Wired
    Beverman, what is the operating system on your server?
    Iím using windows 2k3... it seems to work well. except for the FTP doesnít work allot of people are having the same problem with windows 2003 and the FTP. People can connect without any problem but it comes up with an errorÖ something about passive mode.. and it wont display the listÖ anyway.. I just use my other PC with windows xp on it its annoying but I have no choice (it also has the same error if I use a totally different FTP server like bullet proof FTP.
    I am also using myserver.org for the dynamic IP works grate cool program comes with it too


Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:17 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com