Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    3902
    Hello.
    I am trying to set up a server using an old PC I have lying around, and I was wondering...

    Is it even possible to set up a server behind a firewall?

    We have 5 computers connected to a router in my house, and this router has a firewall built in. If there is a server that can operate and serve pages to users outside of the firewall, that would be good.

    Peace
    zZzZz

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Yes, your firewall should have a control panel, and in that control panel, you can route different types of traffic (ie. http requests). Beware though, setting up a server on your home cable connection is a violation of nearly every ISPs TOS.

  4. #3
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    It's not a function of the server, it's a function of the firewall. Spluf nailed it. Which router do you have?
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    3902
    server type

    linksys

  6. #5
    WDF Staff Wired's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    7,657
    Member #
    1234
    Liked
    138 times
    You can definitely do it with a Linksys router, as I at times have mine set up like that.
    The Rules
    Was another WDF member's post helpful? Click the like button below the post.

    Admin at houseofhelp.com

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Open port 80 on the router and have it forward to your NAT IP.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Senior Member Gemini ISP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    243
    Member #
    3510
    you can setup a server on cable but it cant be a webserver for hosting sites / mp3 / file sharing / -- but i use my residential cable connection for testing websites and development
    Mas
    Gemini-isp.com


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com