Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Home Hosting

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London,England
    Posts
    20
    Member #
    5614
    Sorry i haven't searched but i was wondering... companys charge for the size of the website and the bandwidth the website uses. Am i right in thinking that if you host from home you have no costs? Just paying yearly domain name fee.

    Also what bandwidth ideally would you need for an active forum with say 40 members on line at a time?

    I have a 512kbps connection.. would i need to upgrade to 1Mb or 2Mb to have a decent speed website?

    Also the hardware specification. Would i need a high spec computer or just a computer with a decent amount of RAM?

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Depending on your ISP, you may not have a static IP address (which you will need) and also they may not permit 'always on' connections.

    Try this: http://www.webdesignforums.net/showt...t=Hosting+home
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  4. #3
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    If you're at all serious about putting your site on the web, you should buy professional hosting. After you go through the complicated task of setting up a webserver on your home PC, you need to leave your PC on 24/7/365. When something goes wrong or your PC needs a reboot, how quickly will you tend to it? How secure will your PC be now that it's serving webpages? Not to mention your 512k connection is not sufficient for a server (and 1-2mb isn't either). Instead of paying for your internet access upgrade (and probably computer upgrade, your sever shouldn't be using specs that were fast 5 years ago), just buy some professional hosting. There are some inexpensive hosts mentioned on this forum (run a search). One to check out is www.dinsol.com

  5. #4
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    I can personally guarentee that you will spend more money by hosting a site at home as to hosting it at a hosting company.

    I wont go into the details, but just trust me on this.


    Go get a cheap hosting deal.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com