Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Installing Apache, PHP, and MySQL on Windows, step by step

  1. #1
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Tutorial condensed and rewritten at http://www.webdesignforums.net/showt...1760#post61760

    Requirements: Windows NT, 2000, or XP (95, 98, and Me not supported)
    Time Needed: 15 minutes, no reboot required

    This tutorial is based on installing 1.3.26, not the newer 2.x series. This is because at the time of writing 4.3.0 was only beta CVS code and 4.2.x did not run reliably on Apache 2.x. In addition, MySQL 3.2x is used instead of 4.0 because 4.0 is still in the beta CVS tree.

    As a final note, if you actually want to use some PHP/MySQL-powered pages , you'd put them in Apache's htdocs folder. In my example, that would be D:\Programs\Apache\Apache\htdocs\ . Example: put PHPBB in a folder called "phpbb" within htdocs, and you'd access it by going to http://localhost/phpbb/ .

    If you have any problems, please reply here. You can also reply if it worked just to make my time worthwhile
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  2.  

  3. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    I have this at the bottom of httpd.conf:

    LoadModule php4_module C:/Program Files/PHP/sapi/php4apache.dll
    AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .phtml

    However whenever I run net start apache it says:

    the apache service could not be started.

    The service did not report an error.

    More help is available by typing NET HELPMSG3534.

    Typing NET HELPMSG 3534 only brings up "the service did not report an error"

    Where am I going wrong? I tried the path without php4apache.dll too, but it still didn't work...

  4. #3
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Somebody asked this question before at another forum, so others reading this thread please READ THIS BEFORE DOING THE TUTORIAL.

    If you're putting stuff in a directory with a space, surround the path with quotes. In your case, Fusion, the line should be:
    Code:
    LoadModule php4_module "C:/Program Files/PHP/sapi/php4apache.dll"
    Let me know how it works.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    WORKS! Thanks This is a really good tutorial, maybe you could add to the page that you might need to put quotes around it...otherwise it's brilliant

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    In the mySQL instructions:

    Navigate to the MySQL\bin directory and type mysqld-max-nt --install.

    How do I navigate to yhe mySQL\bin directory? I installed to c:\mysql so what do I type?

  7. #6
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Type the following in the command prompt, pressing Enter after each line:
    Code:
    c:
    cd \mysql\bin
    mysqld-max-nt --install
    net start mysql
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    When I try net start mysql I get this:

    The MySql service could not be started.

    A system error has occured.

    System error 1067 has occured.

    The process terminated unexpectedly.

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    OK I got it to work, now one more problem (yep)!

    Whenever I enter my username and password to login to adminCP, it gives me a 500 after hitting submit. I must then refresh the page and the adminCP loads up, ok it's a small problem, but why?

  10. #9
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Make a page called "phpinfo.php" with these contents:
    Code:
    <?
    phpinfo();
    ?>
    Does it work?

    Also, did you install MySQL to c:\mysql or another directory?
    clemcy likes this.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    11
    Member #
    210
    Everything works, I know that, however, when I enter my username and password at AdminCP login prompt, and I press Submit, It gives a 500 error page. On this page, I can hit refresh and the adminCP WILL load up, however, why is this 500 error page coming up?

    Another problem I have encountered: I downloaded a style file from my adminCP on my real life forums, and tried uploading it via adminCP on localhost. It did not work, it went straight to an error page after hitting submit...


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

how to install apache php mysql on windows

,

install apache php mysql on windows

,

system error 1067 apache php

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com