Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    23 times
    I'm relatively new to hosting and cPanel, but I do know that an SSL Certificate basically 'authenticates' you as the verified location/owner of the domain.

One problem i'm having is that one client who also has 5 emails with me, wants an easy quick way to log into the cPanel webmail, directly from the homepage of the site.

I have done this with no problems, and its works beautiful, except that the first time you log in on a different machine or device, you get confronted with a very intimidating warning message from the browser talking about SSL and authentication. I can tell my clients to just ignore it / allow the exception and get on with their lives, but i'd rather remove this for all potential future clients as well.

My host states that they offer 1 shared SSL Certificate for free, or I can purchase a private for $70/y (ouch!). I have a 're-sellers' account. Would purchasing the private fix this problem for ALL my hosted domains?

On a further note: does anyone know of a way to install a different webmail option in cPanel? Horde and Squirrel Mail are hideous.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    Either one would if the SSL pointed to the mail server website. So if you've got say https://mail.hiImawickedcooldesigner.com/ and it points to your mail server website, then you'd be fine (assuming of course, you had a valid SSL for mail.hiimawickedcoolwebdesigner.com).