Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18
    Member #
    16243
    ..as in is it possible with some hosting companies.
    I don't know the technical term for this feature but I have two domain names completly different from each other (so not sub domains) that I would like to host on the same package, in order to save me money. Now I understand Hosting companies would probably steer you to create a new hosting package for each domain name as it would benefit them but I wonder if any companies offer this feature.
    I do have an account with GoDaddy with a domain name and hostign package for it but cannot see anything obvious to ask this question and like I say I am not sure of the correct technical term for this feature.

    Does anyone know of any Hosting companies that allow this or does GoDaddy have this feature already?

    Thanks in advance,
    Mitch...

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member LeenkzMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Toe-Peek-ah, Kansas
    Posts
    608
    Member #
    26365
    Liked
    80 times
    Do you see anything in your "hosting Control Panel" about "addon" domains? I know many cPanel hosts allow this, but i am not sure how godaddy does their control panel.
    Peace, Mike
    WebHost1-For all your Hosting needs.
    Leenkz.Com-The web starts here! (Blatant use of tables)
    I realllllly need to feel useful, please "like" my signatures!!!! (Button is on the bottom right!)

  4. #3
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    http://www.sectorlink.com/index.php/web-hosting.html

    One plan. As many domains as you want. Easy enough to upgrade if/when you need to. And these guys actually know what they're doing (so does GoDaddy for the most part, but these guys don't have stupid SMTP daily caps or other nonsense going on).

    Alternatively, any reseller account with a reputable host (that's what it's called...a reseller account) will do.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    18
    Member #
    16243
    Thanks Gents.

    So yes, GoDaddy do have such a feature but I had to upgrade to Deluxe from Economy which was not so bad. setting it up was'nt such a chore either and it was inactive within minutes.

    Thanks again.

  6. #5
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,485
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    Good stuff. Just watch your SMTP daily sends, that's all. Be prepared to write them an email outlining why you need more than 1000 per day if it comes to that (I'm assuming you're going to add more domains to your account at some point.)
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  7. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    27788
    Liked
    3 times
    there are many options. Cpanel uses the feature of "Addon Domains" which achieves this. if you are not worried heavily about budget you maybe better of getting a reseller hosting plan. They usually cost about $25 per month from some providers in the states. But they are worth it if you have a few domains you need hosted as it will make your management alot easier and tidier.


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com