Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    So, I am a beginner at pretty much everything website orientated. I currently run a site (though still under construction.) for a text based RPG that I am a group of friends co-wrote. I know you guys hate forums and things like this from reading various posts but I know it will actually get used. Anywho. I am thinking of changing from my host I am using to a new one as mine is really starting to annoy me.
    I don't know technical terms so bare with. I need:
    • Forum
    • Chatroom
    • Emails
    • A way to make a store type thing where players pay with in game currency
    • In game currency
    • Some other pages holding mostly HTML.
    • The ability to design it yourself

I need it pretty easy to set up and look after as I am not the sharpest tack (and I am at peace with that XD) and as cheap as possible but still reliable.

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    there are hundreds of host out there...

What you are talking about are "applications" many of which you can find and install yourself.

Hosting is pretty much an OPEN space on a server somewhere... most do not provide applications much less support for applications...

I would suggest some type of LINUX based hosting as there are many more PHP based applications already created...and depending on where your user base is... select hosting in at least the same region.

Check out http://www.hotscripts.com for scripts...

Keep in mind that "CHEAPEST" is not always the best choice... sometimes the cheapest will have as many problems as FREE... a lot of downtime.. lot's of restrictions... slow response times ...and other issues.

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times