Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    HI guys,
    I am new to the forum. I am looking to make a website for my photography business. And I have never built a site before. I am going to have lots of questions, and take good advantage of tutorials here and other places...
    But... the first step... is registering my domain, and obtaining a web host.

I have read here and other places, to register my domain with somebody OTHER than my hosting company. If I go that route, I am looking at Namecheap.com. It looks like a .com will be $10.69/year. Is there a better place to go?

So, for hosting, I am looking at: Fatcow, GoDaddy, and HostGator.
    I know I need certain things... site building tools. I have never built a site, and need to know which company has the most user friendly building and maintanance tools.
    They all basically have unlimited bandwith... and only GoDaddy really has limits for disk space.

I am stumped, because looking at their sites is like comparing apples, oranges, and cucumbers.
    Can you guys give me some direction?

THanks

Member #
    Liked
    7 times
    If your objective is learning how to build websites, then building from scratch is a great idea.

But if your objective is to get a website up and running quickly and cheaply to start selling photos, why not start with a free WordPress blog/site - you can sign up at WordPress.com. If you like the site, you can then upgrade to a paid account (I'm not sure of the actual cost but it's cheap) which gives you more template options, and gives you the option of using your own domain name.

Another option is a blogger.com blog/site. Also free.