Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Hosting Server

Member #
    Liked
    265 times
    Hi All,

Not sure if anyone can help. But I have been asked by my firm to look for a decent webserver that we can use to host around 5 - 20 sites. Does anyone know of a decent spec? It will be running Linux xamp instead of WAMP.

Any help would be most appreciated as I am a bit of a noob at specing.

-m3
    If you like my comments to your thread please click the LIKE button

Check out my portfolio: Here!
    View my company Facebook Page
    View my company Website

<<Plrease ignoer my typo's I have isdexlyia>>

Banned
    Member #
    Liked
    126 times
    That's not a whole lot of info.
    However, a dual core CPU, and 4GB of RAM, would be plenty for a small amount of sites. I would recommend Debian (in non-graphical mode) and ISPConfig 3 if you need a light, quick server with an ugly but functional control panel...

Member #
    Liked
    265 times
    Quote Originally Posted by shovenose, post: 237510
    That's not a whole lot of info.
    However, a dual core CPU, and 4GB of RAM, would be plenty for a small amount of sites. I would recommend Debian (in non-graphical mode) and ISPConfig 3 if you need a light, quick server with an ugly but functional control panel...
    No we will be going professional. The company I work for is a cloud host but are going into the website realm too. I say 5 - 20 as that's the amount of sites we currently have, but by the middle of the year it could be a hell of a lot more.

View my company Website

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    Personally I use Dell power edge servers... I have 6 currently on a 3 year rotation ( 2 per year )...