Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi,

I am new to Apache and I've been wanting to do this for months now and I just haven't had the time to get stuck in!

Okay, so I want to install Apache onto my Windows server 2003 IIS.
    I've already got PHP 5, MySQL ... they have already been setup on the server and now I want to install Apache for SEO reasons, caching leverage and enabling compression etc. etc.

I've done a bit of research on the net and a simple guide to do it was on this website: http://www.thewebhostinghero.com/tut...ws-apache.html

Now my question is, WILL IT BE THAT SIMPLE? Should I follow that guide?

The LAST thing I want to do, is to install apache and then all of a sudden my IIS, MySQL, PHP settings have been reset / overwritten / lost or and my databases have been deleted and none of my website work anymore - This is the fear I have!

Can anyone give me some reassurance on this and any tips or suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    #1. Why are you setting up a 2003 server ? It's in extended support and will only have security patches and update available. If you have a major hardware or software issue, you're on your own.

#2. Server 2008 ( web services ), provides all the features you're looking for out of apache.

#3. All your stuff SHOULD work, with exception IIS and apache on the same box create their own set of issues, unless you know what your doing. Personally, I run one or the other, not both, too many headaches.