Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Transferring a site from a development domain to a live one

First up, apologies - I am an experienced web designer but I never usually have to deal with this side of things, hence my amateurness - plus I mostly just build sites on live domains for new startup companies!

A client of mine has a site currently online, and I have built a new Wordpress-based one for them on my own development domain. I need to transfer this across to replace the current live site soon, and could do with some help please!

I have created a new database through their control panel, so I know that I need to export the database from my development site and import it into the new 'live' database. After this I will make a backup through FileZilla of all files currently on their live site. Next I think I need to run some SQL queries on the imported database to make sure the correct live URL is used in all instances.

From there I think the next step is to transfer via FileZilla all files / folders from my development site to replace the files on the live site - I will also need to tweak WP-CONFIG.PHP accordingly.

Is this correct? Am I missing something huge? It doesn't seem quite right to me. Would I need to adjust DNS settings at all? I was thinking not as the live site is not moving to new hosting or anything… but as I say, I'm clueless! Any help or advice would be hugely appreciated!

Member #
    Liked
    17 times
    I think you've got it all covered, although I'm not sure what you mean by "Next I think I need to run some SQL queries on the imported database to make sure the correct live URL is used in all instances"? Which URLs are you referring to?