Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Ronald Roe

Thread: Point me toward a web host that fits these criteria?

Member #

Point me toward a web host that fits these criteria?

Quick introduction:

I'm fairly new at coding and I'm looking to set up a website with a friend. I can't host it on my own server, so a web host is my only option. I'm only fourteen, and just registering the domain name is cutting it close on the budget I have to run this thing. It's not gonna make money, it's just for fun. You could call it a "game", though I'm not even sure it's complicated enough to be considered such.

With these circumstances in mind, I'm looking for a free web host that will allow me to set up a simple, one-page site and allow JavaScript, as it's based on jQuery (like I said, I'm new to this, so I don't have a clue as to whether or not all web hosts allow JavaScript). I also need to be able to build this with actual real code words, from a blank template. This is one of the hardest criteria to meet, because most hosts I've found have "designer tools" which are meant to make it easy but they just discombobulate me and they aren't practical for what I'm trying to do here.

I also want to be able to put my registered domain name in the url, either [example.com] or [example.host.com].

-Free
    -Single Page
    -JavaScript/jQuery
    -DIY
    -Domain name

Can anyone point me toward a host that meets these criteria?

Appreciate it. Thanks.

-Renzy

PS I know "Appreciate it. Thanks." is redundant.
    Last edited by RenzySauce; Jul 22nd, 2014 at 02:03 PM.

Member #
    Liked
    959 times