Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #

cheapest/best way for a very basic website

Hello, I am self employed and want to create a very basic website with maybe two paragraphs of text describing my services and how to contact me.

I am not tech savvy to say the least . I've done a bit of research and found I need to pay for a domain name annually and I need a hosting site.

What is the best/cheapest host site for my very basic requirements?

Also where do I buy the domain name?

Thank you.

Member #
    Liked
    136 times
    My suggestions would be:

For a domain name I would suggest GoDaddy. Other options would be NameCheap and Hostgator but there are a lot more. I have used about 4 different ones and always liked GoDaddy. Most people however don't recommend them for hosting.

As to a hosting company it is far easier to get recommendations on ones not to use than it is to get ones to use. Most everyone here will suggest staying away from GoDaddy and any of the 50+ companies owned by EIG which includes Hostgator. My suggestion would be SectorLink.