Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi everyone,

So I am a junior web designer who's been given a bit of a chance to try social media - I've been given the task of monitoring and reporting for a client.

I've studied Social Media marketing for some time, and understand the idea behind 'number of fans' and 'number of likes' (in facebook context) being a bit primitive in terms of monitoring and not being the best stats to look at for insight.

I've done some research on what metrics people do monitor for corporate clients, and many are similar to this article:

http://www.socialtimes.com/2010/02/s...media-metrics/

Some of the metrics mentioned are: brand mentions, loyalty, active network size.My question is, how do people measure/quantify this sort of thing? Are there paid tools that 'tap in' to social media profiles to produce stats on this stuff?

Also, I assume this is plotted on a timeline graph or put into some spreadsheet form for the report - does anyone do social media reporting for clients who could enlighten me as to how/what they include?

Thanks

Member #
    Liked
    2783 times
    There's an easy way to get most of the information that you want, and the tool itself is free to use.

http://www.google.com/analytics/

Put that on your site. It will tell you where your visitors come from and whether they stay or leave (bounce rate). It will also tell you what pages they visit, etc.