Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Where to start in this business....

Member #
    Liked
    20 times
    I am sorry if this is the wrong section for this, I thought it may be appropriate, and also my apologies if this discussion has been asked (I am sure it has) too many times before.

The question simply is, where do you start to get into this industry? I have no knowledge of how it actually works in the real world, and as much as I wish I could get any type of job doing any type of web development work, I do not ever see it happening. So I ask to those who have worked in the business, and are currently still in it, what does it take to break into this field.

Some notes, I live in Houston, Texas which I would see as a pretty big place to find this type of career. I am currently in school for Bachelors in Information Systems (Core: web Development), though I am on pause do to me and my wife having a little girl.

Thanks for any help guys.

Member #
    Liked
    770 times
    If you enjoy this kind of work, there are many ways to "break" into it.

Assuming you know enough to create a decent looking and functioning site, one way would be volunteer to work on sites for non-profits, organizations that have little funds to pay someone. You would get experience, they would get help and you would also get a resume/portfolio item.

Friends and family with business ventures, offer to help them with a site , logo or graphic work, etc... Again, more portfolio items and you get experience.

If you don't know of any organizations that could use help, volunteermatch.com is a good place to start looking.