Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

How to get up and running.....

Hello everyone,

Im getting ready to retire, (less than a year) and Ive tossed around the idea of starting my own web design business, or software design business. I've been a programmer for 30 years, and am well versed in php, mysql, oracle db, html, javascrip and jQuery, etc. My main job function has been to write browser based applications for a very large corporation, basically internal websites (intranets) for the employees, to include browser based apps, reports, etc. Over the years Ive done a handful of websites for people that needed them...small businesses for the most part. So retiring and working from home would be a dream come true for me.

I guess my reason for the post is how do I find customers? I was going to advertise on craigslist and do a bunch of small business websites for free, not cost at all, just to build up my portfolio. The other question is how do you bill? Per hour, number of pages? Another method? Thanks for the help. I really appreciate it.

Member #
    Liked
    63 times
    I get a lot of my work from clients I've worked for in the past needing more work. Usually its because they have a legacy system that needs fixing or a new feature every now and then.

I'm sure the small businesses you've worked for, or the large corporation that you made internal websites for, would probably have work that needs doing - if you drop them an e-mail or a phone call, say you're working remotely if they have any small projects you're available to assist at X hourly rate. If its "commodity work" like a simple 3-page website, SSL installation, etc. I usually quote a fixed price.