Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: My New Design

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    Hi there.
    Im looking to change http://amnesia.generation-rising.com to http://www.generation-rising.com/amnesiatest/common.php

    This is my template that I made - http://www.generation-rising.com/redyellow.jpg

    Im looking for comments, suggestions etc on the design (common.php one). I would also like to know how to get the black border down the left and right hand side to polish everything off. Any suggestions are welcome.

    I feel there is something missing (not just content lol). And it doesnt work very well in FireFox either and I dont know why :S

    Thanks for all your help to come
    Amnesia

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    1,518
    Member #
    5220
    You should continue that red bar beneath the nav all the way to the end. It would look much better!
    Rednerve
    Creative Freelance Design

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Ok thanks! - earlier i gave you a jpg image, it is found here - http://www.generation-rising.com/redyellow1.jpg not at the link i gave

  5. #4
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    Not a bad design, but check it out in Firefox or a browser other than IE. It is completely different. I've attached a screenshot (with me hovering over the contact link) to show you what I mean.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Hmmm, thanks for your help.
    I don't know whats the problem with it though?! Why would it do this in another broser?
    Thanks

    Amnesia

  7. #6
    Senior Member justlivyalife's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    2,871
    Member #
    2374
    The problem is likely the code used, I haven't time to go through it, but validating it should help. Hopefully some other members will be able to help you.

    The reason it works in IE and not another browser is because IE compensates for your mistakes (no offence meant), but Firefox writes exactly what you code. Both browsers also have different ways of using padding for example.
    justlivyalife - The future depends on what we do in the present. (Mahatma Gandhi)
    WDF Resources: WDF Rules
    Non-WDF: JavascriptSource | Dynamic Drive | phpBB | HTML-Kit | Winamp | Download Firefox | Morguefile

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    How do i validate it? is there anything built into Dreamweaver?

  9. #8
    Senior Member Trico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    894
    Member #
    5081
    http://validator.w3.org/ - W3C Markup Validator.

    In order for it to work you need to include character encoding:

    '<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">'

    ...between the <head></head> of every page and a Doctype as the very first line of code.

    On the left edge of your page you need to create a fixed rule in which to align things from... text/headers/navigation etc. (see attached image)

    Headings/Sub headings (in most cases) look better with a tight/condensed tracking value, they're also alot easier to read. In terms of the web that means leaving it as default.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    110
    Member #
    5461
    Thanks for your help etc.

    However, i am faced with a new problem - if you look at this you will see it looks nothing like its supposed to.

    I do not know why this is happening!
    I have attached .php file,

    Thanks for any help

    Amnesia


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com