Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Current Rating

Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

Rate This Site

Advertisement (login to hide this!)

You must be logged in to view this site

Hello. I'm new to web design and was hoping to have my site reviewed. I need all the feedback I can get! The development site is http://sdev.bcknds.com

Thanks!

Member #
    First off, nice pic at the top, but get rid of the sound effect (car horn). You might want to simplfy the navagation as when a person first loads the page they may feel overwhelmed. I belive its not the best site i've ever seen, but its ok.

Member #
    Yep, lose the horn.

Cropping emphasis
    This is a great article to read when you've got to include portrait shots of people. It would help alot here, as they're alot of generic looking photos.

Avoid centreing every chunk of text in sight, it makes it akward to read as the start of each line changes every time. Even if your layout is organised well the text inside will still look too busy and chaotic. Centred text is fine for titles, small column widths that contain short paragraphs.

For the main navigation rollover, yellow text on a purple background as opposed to blue will contrast better and have better aesthetics purple naturaly compliments yellow.

Don't underline headings/page titles etc; just don't.

There's plenty of other things to pick up on, but that should be enough to make a noticeable improvement.

Member #
    Trico,

Thanks so much for the feedback. I know about the horn. It was a flash experiment gone bad. I plan to get rid of it.