Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times

Current Rating

Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

Rate This Site

Advertisement (login to hide this!)

You must be logged in to view this site

Hi , I've been struggling with the layout of my home page in both IE and Netscape 7.0. If I make changes to the markup that fixes a layout imbalance in Netscape 7.0, it just creates a layout imbalance in IE and vice versa. Being that I'm new to web page building and probably will not figure out how to make the page look good in both browsers with the same mark up myself, should (and can I) just use one home page mark up for IE users who come to my website and another one for Netscape 7.0 users? If yes, is there a way to detect which browser a surfer is using and direct them to the appropriate version of my home page?

As a side question (and rant): What is the deal with these %$#@ browsers?? I can't get past making my home page compatible in the latest versions of IE and Netscape, let alone other and older browsers- I can't imagine what they'll do to my page.

Member #
    Liked
    21 times
    Welcome to web design

My suggestion would be to try to make a page that looks best in both. It may sound like more work, but maintaining two simple sites in the long run will probably be more time inefficient than maintaining one.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

Member #
    Liked
    2 times