Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Current Rating

Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

Rate This Site

Advertisement (login to hide this!)

You must be logged in to view this site

I am a beginner web designer. I did an internship last summer where I designed my uncle's company web site after I had only one basic college course. Please take a look at it and tell me what you think. It's all HTML.

www.marshallengines.com

Thanks,

lmarshall

Member #
    Not bad for your first site. I offer two suggestions...

1. When going with this type of design - not very tall, and not very long - I'd recommend centering it. You can do that easily by putting the whole page in a table, and centering the table.

2. Alot of the site has text that is written in an image. This text is impossible to read by search engines, and users can't select it if they want to copy and paste it.

I'd recommend learning about the use of tables in weblayouts. You'd be amazed at how many tables are in a single page (I was). A site with some good HTML, CSS and other tutorials is W3Schools.

Also, another neat trick is to visit webpages, and when you see a trick you'd like to learn, use IE's Save feature (just the regular file, save...) and you can save an entire webpage, including all the image files. Then open the page up in a WYSIWYG HTML editor, and you can try to figure out what they did. Don't copy them, but learn from them. I dunno, that's something I did...hope that helps!

Member #
    Wow.. I didn't know you could do that with web pages in IE!

1. I was trying to figure out how to center the website... for some odd eason I didn't think of that! Thanks!