Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    67
    Member #
    3393

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    Hey all,

    Ive designed a site and every time there's a ' on the page (e.g. St. Catherine's) the ' turns into a ? or a small box depending on what pc you look at it on.

    Ive changed the encoding on the site but it still shows up wrong - the only way to view it properly is if the user sets their encoding in IE to western european.

    Please help!

    Site: www.stcatherines.ie

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Shani's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,140
    Member #
    8171
    I really don't know, because as long as it is within tags as content, I have never had this happen. Maybe you need the html code for the character.

    And if it's any consolation, it looks fine here.
    Shani

    I have an eye for detail like you'd never believe.

  4. #3
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    The html character code is & #39; (remove the space between the & and the #39; I can't get the coding to show up without replacing the ascii code with the ' mark) and they will be the same on all browsers regaurdless of encoding. BTW have you looked at your site in Firefox? Your page goes to full screen width.

  5. #4
    Senior Member Fallout's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    543
    Member #
    2748
    The FF and IE pages look pretty much the same to me running 1.0.4 and 6.0, respectively.

  6. #5
    Senior Member audiofreak9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    339
    Member #
    9584
    View attatched to see what I'm seeing...
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #6
    Senior Member seanmiller's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Glastonbury, UK
    Posts
    868
    Member #
    3263
    Liked
    1 times
    Interesting... I'm on Firefox on a Linux platform and the site is fine.

    Sean

  8. #7
    Senior Member jbagley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Cape Town
    Posts
    845
    Member #
    7422
    Is it possible that you are using the apostrophe thats next to the 1 key on your keyboard instead of the apostrophe thats next to the enter key?

    That could also be the cause...

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    444
    Member #
    2801
    Which editor are you using? I bet you this is a character encoding issue. Open the file in notepad and see what happens.

    I like to use a proper text editor like notepad2 or Crimson Editor. Set the character encoding to ASCII, not unicode or anything fancy like that.
    eKstreme
    eKstreme.com - Free website tools!
    fontfox - free fonts Hand-picked quality fonts.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    67
    Member #
    3393
    hey all thanks for the replies. i actually fixed it a few mins i posted the q! i had to change every page in my web design prog. so that the encoding was set to UNICODE (UTF8).

    Cheers


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:50 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com