Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 32
  1. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    56
    Member #
    1043

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    My frontpage for my website is 120 kb.

    Is that too large?
    http://www.tnrstudios.com/ - Designing the web one site at a time

  2.  

  3. #22
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    tigerdirect.com homepage is 46 kb
    - Brian

  4. #23
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Using IE's save as webpage feature, I saved the html file and the graphics went into a folder. The homepage showed up at 60kb, and the images + css file weighed in at 93.8k. That puts TigerDirect at 150+kb.

  5. #24
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    It's also dynamic content, so both the HTML and the image sizes can vary each time you refresh. It's usually around 150 KB though.

  6. #25
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    Ah, yeah. I used the javascript protocol to get the fileSize, I forgot it doesn't take into account the image sizes and external files. Oops...
    - Brian

  7. #26
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Yeah, the html page he got may have been 46kb, I think he just wasn't factoring in the images.

  8. #27
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Originally posted by transio
    That's incorrect. That's assuming that a 56k modem actually downloads 56 kilobits of information per second (7.25 kilobytes). That is not the case, though. for each byte, there are about 2 bits of data transferred that contain packet routing information, so at best, you can get 45 kilobits per second off a 56k modem (that's 5.625 kilobytes per second).

    Ok, so now we take 120 kilobytes, and divide that by 5.625 kilobytes per second, and voila!

    21.333 seconds

    it's pretty easy to remember. Whatever your connection speed is, just divide the transfer by (speed / 10) and you've got your time.

    For instance, for a 200k connection, divide by 20, for 28.8, divide by 2.9

    :-P
    The US also caps the transmission speed to 54 Mbps, for some reason, for dialup.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  9. #28
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,482
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2784 times
    Isn't that 54 Kbps? I know in Canada it's 53 Kbps as per a CRTC restriction.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  10. #29
    Senior Member skrlin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    562
    Member #
    1063
    I think it is 54 Kb/s

    I get all happy when I get more than 250 Kb/s with a cable connection, so yeah.
    - Brian

  11. #30
    Senior Member Seldimi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Kozani, Greece
    Posts
    488
    Member #
    409
    LOL 18 secs guys (I am a human not a robot )
    In Greece it is restricted to 50.6 Kbps
    - Webmaster's Planet . Greek Vortal For Webmasters ...
    - MyPortFolio - View My Creations

  12. #31
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Mmmm... Greece. I had Greek food for dinner jast night :-P


Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

120 kb big file

,

26 kb too big for website

,

how big in kb is a website

,

how large is 120kb

,

large website kb

,

photo too large 120 kb

Click on a term to search for related topics.
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:45 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com