Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Mostar, Bosnia
    Posts
    122
    Member #
    1167

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    Hi all,

    I would like put some kind internal search into www.proauto.ba

    I would like it because some people visit site but they can not find on @take a look at all docs`s of the site@ way.

    Have you got suggestion?

    Thank you in advance

    Regards from Bosnia

    PS Sorry for my English, I know it is very ugly spelling and gram..

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    I don't have the code offhand, but you could put a google search box on your site. If you type into google

    cool cars site:www.proauto.ba

    Google will search all of the documents on your site for the words "cool cars".

    I did this search on google and came up wth nothing, so I am guessing you aren't on google. The syntax is correct, as I copied it from google, and tried it on other websites. Frist step now would be to get listed. I'll look around for the code for this, unless someone else posts it before I find it

  4. #3
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Here is the code for a regular google search:
    Code:
    <!-- Search Google -->
    <center>
    <FORM method=GET action="http://www.google.com/search">
    <TABLE bgcolor="#FFFFFF"><tr><td>
    <A HREF="http://www.google.com/">
    <IMG SRC="http://www.google.com/logos/Logo_40wht.gif" 
    border="0" ALT="Google" align="absmiddle"></A>
    <INPUT TYPE=text name=q size=25 maxlength=255 value="">
    <INPUT type=submit name=btnG VALUE="Google Search">
    </td></tr></TABLE>
    </FORM>
    </center>
    <!-- Search Google -->
    Now if someone could come along and write a script that would add "site:www.yoursite.com" in after the submit button is pressed and then submit the query to google, that would be pretty cool.

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    It can easily be done via Javascript (the evil way) or PHP (the more complicated but cleaner way).
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Senior Member iphong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    751
    Member #
    916
    i cant get to the site from here
    Vu Tuan Phong
    iPhongDesign

    http://iphong.com
    http://adstudio1.com

  7. #6
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    Originally posted by filburt1
    It can easily be done via Javascript (the evil way) or PHP (the more complicated but cleaner way).
    If you're on an IIS server (Windows) you can do it easily with a FrontPage bot, also.

  8. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Mostar, Bosnia
    Posts
    122
    Member #
    1167
    Front Page?? Really???

  9. #8
    Unpaid WDF Intern TheGAME1264's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Not from USA
    Posts
    14,483
    Member #
    425
    Liked
    2783 times
    To take transio's thought a little further, you can also do it on an IIS machine fairly quickly and easily using the relatively little-known (and very underrated) FileSystemObject (FSO). I've never actually done this myself (when I design search functions for a site, there's generally a database backend that's searched specifically), but I know a few people who have and it does work very well.

    You'll find a really good article on how to develop a text-based search engine using FSO by clicking here. You may want to look at the rest of that site too.

    Here are the rest of the FSO articles on the 4 Guys From Rolla Site.
    If I've helped you out in any way, please pay it forward. My wife and I are walking for Autism Speaks. Please donate, and thanks.

    If someone helped you out, be sure to "Like" their post and/or help them in kind. The "Like" link is on the bottom right of each post, beside the "Share" link.

    My stuff (well, some of it): My bowling alley site | Canadian Postal Code Info (beta)

  10. #9
    WDF Staff smoseley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    9,729
    Member #
    819
    Liked
    205 times
    FSO is little-known?

  11. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Mostar, Bosnia
    Posts
    122
    Member #
    1167
    Hey,

    thank you guys!! You are really good friends!!

    Thank you again


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com