Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Member #

Current Rating

Visual Appeal:
    3.0 out of 5

Accessibility:
    5.0 out of 5

Website Speed:
    5.0 out of 5

Compatibility:
    5.0 out of 5

Overall Rating:
    2.5 out of 5

Rate This Site

Advertisement (login to hide this!)

You must be logged in to view this site

Quick little background:

I am a web developer who has been slaving away for a big design company for years and finally "got the guts" to start my own company. I have a lot of experience with PHP but not much design experience, so please checkout my site and let me know what you think of the design. I am open to making any changes and could really use some help.
    http://www.appealwebdesign.com
    Thanks a million in advance

John

Member #
    Way to make the leap, it is always hard at first but if you have a solid business plan and knock on doors you will be fine.

So, to review your site, first have you have good content and it is easy to nav. I think you already critiqued your site pretty well on your own.
    There is not much to the design concept and it does need some work. This site is pretty plain looking and when I look at it, I think it looks like those e-book websites that you see all over Ebay.

I can't really tell you how to make your site look, just that you need to change it. My only advice I can give is to go out and look at other sites and get some ideas from there.
    Or pick a certain design or color scheme that you find appealing and work on it from there. For example, you have a light bulb on your site.....if that had some sort of inspiration, then go with that.

Graphically, your site needs quite a bit. You have no logo (and that is fine), but you also have no real design.