Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: portfolio site

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    34
    Member #
    1102

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    hey everyone

    i'd appreciate it if you guys would give some input on my portfolio site. it's pretty cool. it loads all the content from a database into javascript arrays. then uses innerhtml to change the content and stuff. i dont think i've ever seen another site use this technique, plz give links if you have. thanks.

    http://12.228.220.146/portfolio/
    http://www.huanderson.com
    http://www.huanderson.com/portfolio/

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member Brak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    3,413
    Member #
    1217
    Liked
    2 times
    Viewing in moz 1.0.2

    Almost left because I could not find the links after 10min... finally started selecting random things - the links at the top are the exact same color as their background.

    Your text size changes dramatically throughout the site.

    It's a cool idea... but the same thing as making one php page calling to different things like "id=4" and taking that as a different page to be displayed... so, unfortuantely nothing really new

    NIce layout if you fix the text/link stuff tho.
    Kyle Neath: Rockstar extraordinare
    The blog | The poetry site | The Spore site

  4. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    34
    Member #
    1102
    its different as there is only one request to the server... so in other words taht whole site is one file named index.php that is a little over 8kb... it's not even close to doing the id=4 thing, i've done that one before too. also... im pretty sure i know why the links came up bad... stupid css... lol.
    http://www.huanderson.com
    http://www.huanderson.com/portfolio/

  5. #4
    Junior Member Shantra's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    12
    Member #
    1346
    Since this is your Portfolio site, I would try to use some color to make it "sell". One color element would do a great deal to the all green header. Now it looks a little dark.
    ...or use another picture wit a little color.

    Otherwise, I like the design

    Have you thought about those who has turned off/or use firewalls (like me)? It happens that I reject the use of Javascript when I get the firewall warning.

    I personally would rather have used the Brak way.

  6. #5
    Senior Member iphong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Arlington, VA
    Posts
    751
    Member #
    916
    I like the design! simple and nice! and the contect part, why dont you make a form mail so that people can easily send a short message to contact or feedback?
    Vu Tuan Phong
    iPhongDesign

    http://iphong.com
    http://adstudio1.com

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    34
    Member #
    1102
    shantra, thanks for the input. the reason i dont want to use the brak way is because i want it to be as fast as possible. there is absolutely no way to make the site faster than what it already is. everything is already there and javascript is just changing different spans. is everyone getting this concept? lol. it'll be off my home server and onto a real webserver ASAP.
    http://www.huanderson.com
    http://www.huanderson.com/portfolio/

  8. #7
    Senior Member zionlocke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    .: l33t Basement :.
    Posts
    736
    Member #
    483
    Liked
    3 times
    you are making the site for a resume to high end companies and not the general public. i suggest you make the best site you can with the skills you have. who cares about the loading time when most companies have T1 on up.
    Cheers, zionlocke :chinese:
    Links: Zion Creation | Blog

  9. #8
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    I agree with zion, alot of ppl that you want to see your portfolio will be on a highspeed connection. The fact that your content loads the instant you click it is cool, but it will be almost instant on a high speed connection too.

    As for the design, I like the image you've chosen, but it could use a little brightening up. And I agree that a contact form would be a great addition. Nice work!

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    34
    Member #
    1102
    alright... i have hundreds of stock photos that i've taken... im sure that i can find something brighter. i will also add that contact form. thanks for the input so far guys
    http://www.huanderson.com
    http://www.huanderson.com/portfolio/

  11. #10
    Senior Member splufdaddy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,488
    Member #
    735
    Cool beans. With a little photoshopping, you could probably make the picture you have useable. With the little I know about photo retouching, you can make the whole picture brighter, and use the saturate tool to make certain parts brighter (like the trees). Good luck!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com