Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    28814

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    I have been working on a Wordpress powered website for my friends freelance design agency and have got to the stage where I am happy with the design. I am putting it here for critical review. Not insulting, not belittling, for critical review. Comments that just insult will simply be ignored. Ive joined other forums and designers have been unnecessarily harsh to people just wanting a little help. Whilst I've been designing for years, I still remember how I started out, so I like to show others that same respect. (Thank you for your attention on that)

    The site is in active beta and will be updated as and when feedback is given. Please give specific feedback, and if possible, a compatible solution. Whilst it is for my friend, I am working for the agency on a freelance basis, so it is done by the agency, just only me as the designer.

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member BallardStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    28552
    Liked
    6 times
    My Questions & Comments
    What is going into the big grey box?
    The "Contact" link is floating into the grey box.
    I'm viewing from a laptop and need to scroll from side to side to view the entire site. You may want to set up a div at 1000 px for non desktop users. Also works for smartphones and tablets.
    The navigation to the portfolio is confusing. I go from Dharma Design to Nathan Bunn. Why not just make the WP page a Nathan Bunn portfolio page?
    Starting off the Products copy with an image is distracting. You may want to move the image after the copy or to the right. Just keep in mind, if you move the images to the right, they are going to fight with the tile ad.


    I hope the suggestions are helpful.
    I'm an art director crossing paths between print and web design.
    http://www.ballardstudio.com

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    28814
    * There should be a jQuery slider in the big grey box. It should also work the drop down menu.
    * I've noticed the contact menu link drops down, but only when I shrink the page one level below 100%. I'll look at that.
    * The width of the content is fixed at 970px and fits fine on my netbook (1024 x 600). Can you show me how it looks for you? What browser are you using?
    * As Dharma Designs has no content of its own, we decided to use our own personal content to promote us. I am not in charge of Dharma Designs, and there are others contributing work to show our standards. Hence why work I have done goes to my portfolio (and I am the only one who has contributed so far, so other work will go to their respective portfolios until we have our own work ... not ideal, I know).
    * Products image - I'm in two minds to have the images there at all. You think it's needed? It's more for decoration anyway.

    Also, it says my CSS is invalid. It looks like the errors are being picked up based on CSS2.1 standards, and some are CSS3. I'll get it verified. Not good to have invalid code :S

  5. #4
    Senior Member BallardStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    28552
    Liked
    6 times
    If you are joining this group, just add your work under them. I think it would be best. If not, you will be confusing your future clients.

    I would remove the product images or use them above the titles

    I'm an art director crossing paths between print and web design.
    http://www.ballardstudio.com

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    28814
    Is this Firefox 5 for Mac? If so, I've been made aware of the problem. I'm only limited to a PowerPC Mac, financially, so I am limited to Firefox 3.6. It works fine on Firefox 5 for PC, but I am looking at that.

    I'll look at the product images too. See if moving them or removing them improves it any, since I'm in two minds about it myself. And, since we are all just starting, removing my work would basically leave an empty portfolio. But I take your point on board. It's why I put the disclaimer under my work description to say it was not completed as Dharma Designs, but as an individual. I'll take it to the others in the group, see what they say.

  7. #6
    Senior Member BallardStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    28552
    Liked
    6 times
    I never upgraded my Firefox. "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." I'm on 3.0.10
    I'm an art director crossing paths between print and web design.
    http://www.ballardstudio.com

  8. #7
    Senior Member BallardStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    28552
    Liked
    6 times
    I just viewed it in Safari. MUCH BETTER! I guess I have to upgrade my Firefox now. It's broken.
    I'm an art director crossing paths between print and web design.
    http://www.ballardstudio.com

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    28814
    Right. Well, I'm still aware of the menu dropping. Actually, that also explains the lack of webfonts, which might go some way of explaining why it has done it on you and not some others. Either way, a menu drop is a menu drop and needs to be fixed.

  10. #9
    Senior Member BallardStudio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    143
    Member #
    28552
    Liked
    6 times
    Looks better in Firefox 5 too. What's the jquery you used for the homepage? I was looking for something similar for my home page.
    I'm an art director crossing paths between print and web design.
    http://www.ballardstudio.com

  11. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    Posts
    10
    Member #
    28814
    The slider? It's a Wordpress plugin called WP-Slider. I went for that one more because it's integrated into the admin panel than how it looks or works. The one I saw that I liked was http://www.quicksave.ro/dev/build/slide/, which is based on http://www.sohtanaka.com/web-design/automatic-image-slider-w-css-jquery/. Unfortunately, my knowledge of writing Wordpress plugins is nil, otherwise I'd have used that one instead. I hear Nivo slider is highly recommended, however, if you want to check that one out - http://nivo.dev7studios.com/.


Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com