Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Current Rating

Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

Rate This Site

Advertisement (login to hide this!)

You must be logged in to view this site

So, a few months ago, I was learning Adobe Dreamweaver and had managed to create my first website which I was very proud of.
    Looking back on that now, I realise Iíve come such a long way and have learnt so much.
    The original AGHicks website was entirely designed in tables (eughh, tell me about it) which I quickly realised was a huge mistake.
    I spent the last few months learning HTML and CSS to a decent level. Once Iíd got the hang of these two, I started playing around with Twitter Bootstrap testing out itís various responsive features.
    Turns out, HTML and CSS are probably simpler than learning (more like muddling) your way through Dreamweaver.
    Donít get me wrong, there have been plenty of infuriating instances where I couldnít figure out why something was wrongÖ but there is also nothing better than when you finally realise how to fix that annoying bug.
    I have changed numerous other things on the site, not just the code. The images in particular have been shrunk in size drastically without any noticeable quality drop. For example, on the old website the Project Gallery page (19 image slideshow) took around 32-36 seconds to load (c'est ridicule!); on the new website, the same page loads in around 3-5 seconds AND it has responsive features now.