Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    324

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    Hello all. I'm a newbie to this forum. I would classify myself as somewhere between entry-level and intermediate when it comes to web development. Here's my question:

    I want to create a drop-down box with roughly 100 options. When a user selects any of the options and then hits the submit button, I want the user to go to a uniqe URL based on that option. Can this be done purely inside HTML? Or do I need to set up some type of database? Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

    Thanks

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    You can do it with Javascript. This will make it redirect to each option's value but doesn't include a Go button (it will just go automatically):
    Code:
    <select onClick="window.location = this.value">
    <option value="http://www.google.com/">Google</option>
    <option value="http://www.webdesignforums.net/">WDF</option>
    </select>
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    324
    I appreciate the quick response! I have tried what you stated, however, the form doesn't seem to allow me to go past the first option. In other words, as soon as I click on the drop down and try to go to the second option, it automatically redirects to google.com. Am I missing something?

  5. #4
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Oh, I see what you're saying.

    That's a bit more complicated...anybody else want to chime in?
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    324
    I think I have found a solution:
    http://www.javascriptkit.com/script/cut147.shtml

    Thanks for the input!


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com