Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    94
    Member #
    237

    Current Rating

    Visual Appeal:
    0.0 out of 5

    Accessibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Website Speed:
    0.0 out of 5

    Compatibility:
    0.0 out of 5

    Overall Rating:
    0.0 out of 5

    Rate This Site


    Advertisement (login to hide this!)


    You must be logged in to view this site

    What is the smallest & least processor intensive method of implementing a color-graduated background into a Table data cell, preferably without using an image? Compatible with an HTML webpage? Thanks..

  2.  

  3. #2
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    No way except an image that I'm aware of. You can use CSS to make sure that it stretches instead of tiling. If you do find another way be sure to post it here because I use gradients in tds for some things here.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  4. #3
    JR
    JR is offline
    Senior Member JR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    4,354
    Member #
    257
    Liked
    1 times
    do you mean more than one colour blended together? If you do check out this...

    click here

    i'm not sure if this is what you are looking for.
    JR

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    94
    Member #
    237
    Yes basically where one color fades to another. Like the titlebar at the top of a window in win98 when multicolor titlebar mode is enabled.

    I intend on fading some shade of blue to the gray of my tables on my webpage.

  6. #5
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    Interesting, there is a blend attribute. Check it out.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  7. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    94
    Member #
    237
    Ok here is the necessary code:

    STYLE="position:absolute; filterrogidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Gradient(GradientType=0, StartColorStr='#FF000000', EndColorStr='#FFFF3300')"

    With an example:

    <TABLE>
    <TR>
    <TD width=400 STYLE="position:absolute; filterrogidXImageTransform.Microsoft.Gradient(GradientType=0, StartColorStr='#FF000000', EndColorStr='#FFFF3300')">
    <FONT color="#CDCDCD"><B><center>This is TD text.</center></B></FONT>
    </TD>
    </TR>
    </TABLE>

    As you can see, it unfortunatley requires absolute positioning. But if you can work around that, it works! At least for IE.. netscape= :unknown:

  8. #7
    Senior Member filburt1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Maryland, US
    Posts
    11,774
    Member #
    3
    Liked
    21 times
    It won't for Netscape, that's an IE-only filter. If I were you I'd just make a tiny optimized GIF image and use that instead. It's also browser independent and probably less CPU intensive.
    filburt1, Web Design Forums.net founder
    Site of the Month contest: submit your site or vote for the winner!

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    94
    Member #
    237
    I've just determined that position:absolute does not have to be included, at least not with IE 6.x.. however, I am not sure if this is due to IE handling the error in a preprogrammed way or if it simply does not need a position statement in v 6. Maybe others know? I am going to try in Mozilla next.

    It also appears that the contents of that peticular element becomes transparent.. including the text.

    Unsuprisingly, this does not work in Mozilla, and hence probably netscape.

  10. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Moscow City
    Posts
    32
    Member #
    468
    CSS is a good solution, but it's afer to write in the HTML code.
    Want a dynamic site with nice graphics? Solutions for the new age. Marco Tech
    vBulletin skins | Button sets | Free Photoshop addons | Web templates | PHP


Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2021 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com