Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Thread: Theme design

Member #
    Hey guys, I apoligize if this has been covered, but I have looked through wordpress section of the forum and found nothing. I am a novice with web design and only got in to it due to my job.. I have decided moving over to a wordpress to make updating my sites easier rather than having to rewrite code (which I suck at). I'm an art guy to begin with, so creating a nice looking page in photoshop I can do, but to make the site work well with wordpress, I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around. From what I have found, I can create the design in photoshop and use something like psd2cssonline.com to take my slices and turn it into a wordpress layout...My problem consists of how to name my layers, and once that is accomplished, how do I achieve all of my roll overs and nice roll in effects? Currently I am playing around with themes found at themeforrest, but it would be much more gratifying to learn to do this myself. I hope that makes sense. If anyone could point me towards some resources/tutorials/books/etc, that would be MUCH appreciated =)

Member #
    It appears you have no Web Design experience - correct?

If so you'll first want to pick up some books on HTML and CSS, this will get you through the basics of creating the overall design. In terms of WordPress, it is really simple, you can pretty much cut and paste everything from the WordPress Codex at WordPress.org.

However, I find the easiest way to learn is to start with an already made theme and then customize it to suit your needs. It is the best way to get your hands dirty.