Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    I'm making a website for a friend and am trying to embed a WP blog here:

    http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/blog.php

    The first post is showing up, but there's no comment function and I don't know what's going to happen when there are 10 or 20 posts. I need the blog to be fully operational with comments, archive for old posts, and all the things you normally get with a blog.

    I've installed WP at http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/blog/ - I have tried migrating the custom-designed pages into the /blog/ directory, but every time I save a file as index.html WP overwrites every page in the directory as a copy of index.html, and I mean an exact copy, i.e. the blog disappears. And my friend is adamant that she does *not* want to just link to the blog as it is, she wants it to be part of and look like the rest of the site.

    So basically, I need a fully-functioning blog in a fully custom-looking site, and I'm stuck on how to do it. Found half an answer here:

    http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/web-...te-433674.html

    which says 'just take the HTML elements that make up your site's design and surround the WP code with it.' Yes, that's exactly what I want to do, but no idea how to do it. Can anyone help?

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    That reply from sitepoint makes no sense to me, and I have been working with WP for several years now. Maybe they meant the CSS elements that make up your site's design, that you were to "surround the WP code" with? I cannot figure out what they mean at all.

    I would think the simplest way to do this would be to do the whole site in WP (install the WP to the root,http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/ not to a separate /blog folder) - make the About, Planning Services, Design Services, etc as pages, rather than posts, and make a Home page and a Blog page as well. Then in Settings, under "reading" set "front page displays" to "a Static Page" which would be your Home page, and set the Blog page as the posts page. (you would, of course, have to have some content on the Home page)

    This would also serve to clean up your code and get the styling out of the page and into an external CSS file, which should improve the loading time a fraction.

    I see that you don't have much of the site online yet, so this would be the time to make the switch.

    If you want to see examples of several sites done completely in WP, go to the bottom link in my sig and take a peek at the portfolio.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    Thanks alphamare.

    I've put my website on Wordpress by editing the 'Starkers' blank theme into a custom theme. Front page is working nicely:

    http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/

    The problem is with the other pages.

    http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/?page_id=7 Blog page - this looked horrendous without formatting so I put in a lot of the code from the 2010 theme on which Starkers was based.

    Problem 1 is horrible grey links that turn bright red on mouseover. Can't find the code that would strip those colours out and make them the same as my other links.

    Problem 2 is it still looks a bit half-formatted.

    Problem 3 is that the rest of my pages come out like this: http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/?page_id=43- no matter what I type in the html box, it doesn't show up on the page. I've tried putting the Loop in the page but that just produces blog posts complete with post-date etc, not usable page text.

    Also, pretty permalinks don't work - I get 'page not found' when I try to use them.

    Help? This site needs to be done today if possible.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    I've fixed most of it now but still having trouble with the blog page. The top post (headed 'Blog') is static and when I make a new post, it only shows up as a link right at the bottom under 'Recent posts'. I want to get rid of that static post and have my newest post there instead.

    Also, the pages for single posts (linked to from the blog) are ignoring my text formatting even though I've edited it into page.php.

    Any ideas?

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/ is LIVE! Thanks all!

  7. #6
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Looks like you have done very well -
    Lucky3 likes this.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  8. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    Thank you!

  9. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    One (hopefully) last problem - http://catherineandchloe.co.uk/events seems to jump slightly to the right relative to the other pages. I assume it's something to do with my using a table in that page, but there's also a table on the front page and that doesn't jump. Any ideas?

  10. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    19
    Member #
    28566
    Fixed! If anyone else gets this, the fix is here:

    http://scratch99.com/web-development...ser-scrollbar/

  11. #10
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    Thanks for that! Nice to see the answer being shared.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com