Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member CityWebMarketing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    34506
    Ok I am editing a site for a client. All he wated was some graphics edited and add SSL. I began updating the SSL and next thing I know 2 of the sites Links are no working anymore, t is an insurance site and 2 of the 3 quote page links no longer work. I havent touched any code or anything. So I thought maybe those 2 did not work to begin with. I even went back on the history to before I started with the page and the Links still don't work,

    The site is a word press site. Can anyone with more of an eye for error help me out or look and see the problem. I see no Link to the quote forms anywhere in the code but like I said I have not touched it,

    The links are on the Auto Ins page and Home Ins.

    investment-works.net is the site

  2.  

  3. #2
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    For some reason the links for the images (the quote and adding or deleteing a vehicle) are not working -
    I'd have to see the admin area to tell you where to fix that.

    Also - ACK! I went to the site and was immediately assaulted by a video's soundtrack blasting out of my speakers! I'm willing to bet that is creating a very high bounce rate for your client. Then I realized there is an auto-play video on every page! Yikes!
    I will hardly ever stay on a site that doesn't give me a choice about whether or not to watch or listen to something.

    P.S. I took your duplicate thread off the Joomla forum.
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  4. #3
    Junior Member CityWebMarketing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    34506
    Thanks,

    I thought the videos were a bit much too but I did not do the original design, I am going to see if I can fix that but I think some of the videos are from another site. I haven't dug too deep on that yet. Trying to fix the Quote issue. Why would resetting the files in File Manager not fix this issue?

    Is there anything I can do for your assistance? looking at the code won't help? I appreciate any help I can get would save me a lot of time not having to redo the quote pages.

  5. #4
    WDF Staff AlphaMare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    4,570
    Member #
    20277
    Liked
    878 times
    I could see the HTML and CSS code in Chrome - the links looked funky -

    The site seems to be down now....
    Good design should never say "Look at me!"
    It should say "Look at this." ~ David Craib


    http://digitalinsite.ca ~ my current site . . info@digitalinsite.ca ~ my email

    If you feel that someone's post helped you fix your problem, answered your question, or just made you feel better, feel free to "Like" their post. The "Like" link is at the bottom right of each post, along side the "reply" link. And if you are being helped here, try to help someone else - pass it on!

  6. #5
    Junior Member CityWebMarketing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    34506
    I did not create that part of the page can ya look it over and tell me whats wrong?

  7. #6
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Without going to the site ...

    First I have to ask, is the behaviour you're talking about happening in all browsers ? Or just one and if different browsers behave differently, would be helpful.

    Now

    1. When you added the SSL cert to the site, did you clear out the browsers cache ? Ie acts particularly funky when part of the site in cache is from https and another part is http...

    2. Sometimes, especially if you are including content on a SSL site from a non-SSL site, browser security will either pop up a message and ask the visitor if they want to include content from the non-secure site, or the browser just doesn't include it... ( see #1 )... Because of potential security issues... Just adding a certificate isn't always as cut and dry as it seems.

    Make sure that any absolute links within your settings are properly pointed at the https:// and not pointed at the http:// version of the site.

    Depending on functions and plugins used on a WP site, if you are using a .htaccess mod-rewrite rule, you'll need to make sure it is also pointed at the https://

    Every browser handles SSL differently, so some may display something's differently than others until you make sure that everything is addressesd correctly.

    I've not done a SSL WP site, but I do know that mod-rewrite can cause problems with a site if the mod-rewrite rules are constantly sending content from the http instead of https.

  8. #7
    Junior Member CityWebMarketing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    34506
    All I did was edit wp-config.php for the SSL

    Then I downloaded the WP Pluggin for SSL and installed it.

    Once I realized ther link was not working I went into the file manager and reset the files back but it still did not fix the forms links.

    Does this help ?

    Quote Originally Posted by Webzarus, post: 246549
    Without going to the site ...

    First I have to ask, is the behaviour you're talking about happening in all browsers ? Or just one and if different browsers behave differently, would be helpful.

    Now

    1. When you added the SSL cert to the site, did you clear out the browsers cache ? Ie acts particularly funky when part of the site in cache is from https and another part is http...

    2. Sometimes, especially if you are including content on a SSL site from a non-SSL site, browser security will either pop up a message and ask the visitor if they want to include content from the non-secure site, or the browser just doesn't include it... ( see #1 )... Because of potential security issues... Just adding a certificate isn't always as cut and dry as it seems.

    Make sure that any absolute links within your settings are properly pointed at the https:// and not pointed at the http:// version of the site.

    Depending on functions and plugins used on a WP site, if you are using a .htaccess mod-rewrite rule, you'll need to make sure it is also pointed at the https://

    Every browser handles SSL differently, so some may display something's differently than others until you make sure that everything is addressesd correctly.

    I've not done a SSL WP site, but I do know that mod-rewrite can cause problems with a site if the mod-rewrite rules are constantly sending content from the http instead of https.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Quote Originally Posted by CityWebMarketing, post: 246559
    All I did was edit wp-config.php for the SSL

    Then I downloaded the WP Pluggin for SSL and installed it.

    Once I realized ther link was not working I went into the file manager and reset the files back but it still did not fix the forms links.

    Does this help ?
    So who's certificate did you install ? What type of certificate is it ?

  10. #9
    Junior Member CityWebMarketing's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    6
    Member #
    34506

  11. #10
    Senior Member Webzarus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    South Carolina Coast
    Posts
    3,322
    Member #
    27709
    Liked
    770 times
    Godaddy doesn't install them, they sell them... Yes there is an integrated installer, but you have to run it and verify that the certificate installed properly.

    In your control panel, there is a section for SSL certs, that shows the whole process from request to install and verification of install.

    As for the WP stuff... No clue , again, I've never put SSL on a WP install... That would be a question more for a WP forum.

    As for the SSL install...

    Let me get this straight ... The site was working and everything was functioning properly before you did anything related to the SSL install ?

    Then you installed the cert or purchased and installed the cert, and that's when things went wrong ?

    Quick test.... Create a static page... Put it on the site on the root of the site.

    Then visit the page by going to HTTPS://yoursite.com/page.html ...

    If it opens up under the SSL address... Without any warnings or errors... Then the SSL cert is installed properly. If you get an error or page not found... To back to your control panel and verify the cert was installed and validated to install correctly.if validation says its installed, this is a support issue for godaddy. If the validation is still in process, make sure to finish the steps...


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Remove Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com