Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Unhappy Designing for Wordpress

Hi im currently designing a site for a friend, and im kind of new to the coding for wordpress scene , so im just wondering whats the best way to code for wordpress, because as I see it now the front page will mostly be widgets. It's an event based site, and im really not sure how to go about coding, so that I can add in the required widgets easily.

Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Hi from Eddie P and Welcome!

I've been using WordPress for some time now and use very little coding at all. I use WP mostly for blogging, but also have sales pages as well.

I'd suggest you going through one of the many free WP courses available online. Send me a post and I'll tell you where some are. This is how I learned and am still learning about WP.

One of the first things you need to do is choose a WP theme that goes along with the content you want on the site. There are a bunch of free themes available from WP. You download the theme, install it, and then start adding your content.

Take care and let me know if I can help!

Member #
    See hes paying me for custom content and he understands im still new at coding for wordpress I have however have a good html/css background so there is a specific look he wants which ive made thru Photoshop and now looking at how to code it says that the widgets are addable afterwards.

Member #
    Liked
    959 times
    The easiest way is to dig into tutorials and get your hands dirty. The WP Codex has a good guide, but it's a bit on the technical side.