Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Question Swapping Forums with WordPress

:I can't emphasize strongly enough that I am very new to this, Just started learning WordPress a couple weeks ago. So your patience will be very appreciated.

On my site I have installed a WordPress Forum plugin, which is not too bad, but another one has caught my eye and I was hoping to be able to remove the existing one and theen install the new one (without) loosing all forum members registrations and post counts, etc. This is probably aa dumb question to many, but as I said am just learning and loving the venture. I thank anyone who has any input.

Regards,
    Dave

Member #
    Liked
    130 times
    I think it would be helpful to know which forum software has caught your eye? Most forum software has add ons to import content from other forum programs. WordPress forums are less fully featured and not as popular as some of the ones that really specialize in forums. My experience is only with vBulletin and Simple Machines forums. When I switched from vBulletin to SMF it was easy to import the content without losing anything. If you are looking at a popular forum the odds are it can be done or that you can get someone to do it for you without a big expense.

Member #
    Ok tuboguy,

Thank you fro replying. he one I have installed now is 'Forum - wpForo', and the one I had at the start and would like to install it back again is 'Website Toolbox'.
    Both the above mentioned were near the top of the list under the 'Popular' category. I think they are both great forums but I did a lot of modifying on the Website Toolbox one with header images and a few other things. It is by far a more attractive and versatile forum than the wpForo I am using now.

Member #
    Liked
    130 times