Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Need some help in planning for WP e-commerce site

I have experience with PHP, HTML, CSS...etc. but I'm not a Web developer and think I may go with wordpress for an event I am helping organize.

I want to make sure I am not the only one who can update site and if I'm not involved for next year's event I want it so someone else could easily take over.

This would be my first time using wordpress for a project and am confused by some things.

My current thought for a setup is:

Namecheap for domain
    Hostgator for hosting
    WordPress
    Woocommerece
    Woocommerece stripe extension

Questions:

Do I need to purchase SSL? Hostgator appears to come with one wordpress hosting plan but offers little details and I am assuming it's a shared SSL. Is a shared SSL OK? I want smooth transactions with no security warnings but if the address has the host name vs. Our domain it is not a deal breaker for this project we just need to keep costs down.

What will woocommerece with stripe extension give me and what will it cost? This seems like a simple question but all info. I can find is really vague on how this all works and says it's free. Since event registration is only open for a few months I would like transaction fees instead of monthly fees. We will have a few different group("products") registrations and we just want a typical fill your cart and check out with credit card setup.

Any value in hosting on wordpress.com? Again, first time using wordpresss so if their hosting offers up some extra value I am open to a different plan.

Sorry for the super long first post. I'm just trying to get all my ducks in a row before I start down a path.

Member #
    Liked
    130 times