Register

If this is your first visit, please click the Sign Up now button to begin the process of creating your account so you can begin posting on our forums! The Sign Up process will only take up about a minute of two of your time.

Member #

Wordpress as cms, Newbie help

I am new to website development, one peer of mine that haves more experience told me to do this:

1. Design website using wordpress
    2. Host website on digital ocean
    3. Give user wordpress account to use as cms
    4. em profit?

As far as i know, wordpress also gives you the hosting service, also all of this made me make some question:
    ┐Can you export and import website "templates" from wordpress?
    ┐Can you use wordpress for design and cms, and use other hosting website for hosting?
    ┐How?

If you can answer or link me to a tutorial i would be very grateful, also if you think this method is bad or risky, linking me to the best practices would help a lot

Thanks

Member #
    Liked
    878 times
    To start with, there are two "flavours" of Wordpress.
    The free wordpress.com hosts the site for you, has limited templates and plugins, and limited styling ability. It also charges you for extras such as your own domain name, ad-free site, etc.
    Also free, wordpress.org lets you download the software and install it on your own hosting, with your own domain name (both separately purchased by you). There are lots of themes and plugins to choose from and you can change the styling using a child theme and some original CSS if you want. You can even add extra functions if you are able to write PHP code.

I will tell you that if I hired someone to make me a site and found out that it was free hosted on wordpress.com and not customized, I would be very angry. I don't know about Digital Ocean, but I suspect your friend has an affiliate account there and is trying to drive sales in order to make his affiliate payment.